I am trying to adjust the water consumption now that I am riding so frequently. The Mayo clinic states that you should get 11 eight ounce glasses a day for a women exercising and a Man 15 glasses. That seems to be so much, but today I am giving it a shot. I marked a line on my glass so I would now when I hit the eight ounces. Lucky wine, coffee, milk, and juice count. Also fruits and veggie count as well I am just not quite sure how to measure though.

A health benefit of water would be the improvement of many conditions by drinking water for your health, such as:

  • Exhaustion
  • Constipation
  • Asthma
  • Headaches
  • Diabetes – blood sugar level management
  • Heartburn
  • Angina (chest pain)
  • Hypertension (high blood pressure)
  • Joint and muscle pain
  • Immune diseases
  • Depression can be helped by ensuring that you drink enough water for your health.

Here are a few of my favorite water bottles

  Thinksport Stainless Steel Sports BottleThis is for the kids’ and adults

I’m solid at doing four miles, and am wanting to do more. For the first time on Saturday there was a biker in front of me and I just wanted to keep following her, to ride in a pack, Run free. I am not the adventurous type in fact this may be the most adventurous thing I have done, but there is something intoxicating about just getting out there in the open air. I’m thinking of joining the bike club but I’m not sure if there is room for a simple mum with not much flare. I am not truly sure what they do? It would be nice to meet others to ride with.

I have been looking into flavored water to help me with adding water to my list of things to do, had kiwi water today tasty until Aida and Lynden Ate it. Found this from Jamie Oliver a favorite chief of mine.

Quick and easy flavored water

method

It only takes a second to turn a plain jug of water into something much more exciting. Chuck in a few handfuls of ice then try any one of these simple things:
• Add a few slices of fresh lemon or lime. • Quarter an orange, squeeze in all of the juice, then toss in the squeezed quarters for color and extra flavor. • Mash up a handful of strawberries or raspberries with a fork then add to the jug and stir through. • Scrunch a handful of fresh mint in your hands to get the flavor going then add that to the jug with a squeeze of lemon or lime juice. If you’re feeling a bit adventurous, add a few slices of cucumber too. It might sound strange, but it is seriously refreshing.

Sassy Water

  • 2 liters of water
  • 1 teaspoon of freshly grated ginger
  • 1 medium cucumber, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 1 medium lemon, thinly sliced
  • 12 small spearmint leaves

Combine all ingredients in a pitcher and let flavors blend overnight.  Drink the entire pitcher by the end of each day. Pressed Watermelon with Basil Water

  • 4 cups chilled still water
  • 4 cups watermelon chunks (about 1/4 large melon)
  • 6 to 8 large basil leaves
  • Pinch of sea salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon white wine vinegar

Combine the watermelon chunks and basil in a colander placed over a large bowl.   Using a metal ladle or spoon, press the watermelon to extract as much juice as possible (the remaining pulp should be fairly dry).  Season the juice with the sea salt and vinegar and strain through a fine-mesh sieve into a large pitcher. Add the water, stir, and serve.
Orange and Green Apple Water

  • 4 cups of water
  • 1 orange, sliced
  • 2-3 slices of green apple rubbed with lemon juice
  • ½ lemon

Combine ingredients and let rest for 24 hours.

Enjoy hope it gets you pumped for water. I am on my ninth glass tonight two more before bed. I did feel like I had more energy than normal today.Hm… we will see….

